2013 Sudden Oak Death Blitz

SOD Blitz season is upon us, and we need Citizen-Scientists like yourself to help map the spread of Sudden Oak Death (SOD)! Matteo Garbelotto’s laboratory, in conjunction with the California Native Plant Society, are organizing this yearly survey project, which promises to be our largest ever. Come to a meeting in your local area, collect samples in your community, and have them laboratory analyzed for SOD. Thanks to support from USDA Forest Service, State and Private Forestry and The Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation we are offering this program to you for free!

For your convenience the current schedule of SOD Blitz events with local contacts is listed chronologically below. The most current information on the SOD Blitz project, updated meeting schedules, and local organizer contacts can be found at www.sodblitz.org.
DATES AND LOCATIONS

Santa Cruz – Friday, April 12, 7:00pm,

UCSC Arboretum, Santa Cruz, CA Map Link

Contact: Annie Murphy – PLN400@co.santa-cruz.ca.us

CNPS Contact: Brett Hall – brett@ucsc.edu

Marin County – Saturday April 20, 10:00am,

Dominican University, 155 Palm Ave.,

Joseph R. Fink Science Center, Rm 102,

San Rafael, CA Map Link

Contact: Karen Suslow – karen.suslow@dominican.edu

CNPS Contact: Kristin Jakob – kristinjakob@att.net

East Bay – Two meetings to choose from: April 27,

10:00am, Orinda, Garden Room, Orinda Public Library, 26 Orinda Way, Orinda, CA

Contact: Bill Hudson – wllhh@ymail.com

1:00pm, Berkeley, 159 Mulford Hall, UC Berkeley, Map Link

Sign Up at Eventzilla

San Luis Obispo – Friday, May 3, 6:30pm,

SLO County Department of Agriculture,

2156 Sierra Way, San Luis Obispo, CA Map Link

Contact: Kim Camilli – Kim.Camilli@fire.ca.gov

CNPS Contact: Lauren Brown – lbrown805@charter.net

Carmel Valley & Monterey – Saturday, May 4, 1:00pm,

Garland Ranch Regional Park Museum meeting room at the ranger station,

Carmel Valley, CA Map Link

Contact: Kerri Frangioso – kfrangioso@ucdavis.edu

CNPS Contact: Brian Leneve – bjleneve@att.net

San Francisco – Saturday, May 7, 9:00 am

Golden Gate Park Presidio & Golden Gate Park

Rec Room, SF County Fair Building,

Golden Gate Park near 9th Ave. & Lincoln Way, SF, CA

Contact: Eric Anderson – eric.anderson@sfgov.org

Mendocino – Saturday, May 11, 10:00am,

College of the Redwoods, 1211 Del Mar Drive,

Fort Bragg, CA Map Link

CNPS Contact: Lori Hubbard – lorih@mcn.org

South Bay – Two meetings to choose from: Saturday, May 18,

10:00am, Montalvo, Location and Map TBA

Contact: Kelly Sicat – KSicat@montalvoarts.org

CNPS Contact: Arvind Kumar – arvind.kumar@cnps.org

1:00pm, South Skyline, Location and Map TBA

Contact: Jane Manning – skyline_sod@yahoo.com

Penninsula – Two meetings to choose from: Saturday, May 25,

10:00am, Burlingame Hills, Map Link

120 Tiptoe Lane (off Canyon Rd.), Burlingame, CA

Contact: Steve Epstein – steve@burlingamehills.org

1:00pm, Woodside/Portola Valley/Emerald Hills, Map Link

Woodside Town Hall, 2955 Woodside Road, Woodside, CA

Contact: Debbie Mendelson – sodblitz@gmail.com

Atherton – Saturday June 1, 10:00am, Map Link

Carriage House, Holbrook Palmer Park, 150 Watkins Ave., Atherton, CA

Contact: Susan Finocchio – susanfin@earthlink.net

Los Altos Hills – Saturday, June 8, 10:00am Map Link

Los Altos Hills Town Hall, 26379 Fremont Rd., Los Altos Hills, CA

Contact: Sue Welch – sodblitz09@earthlink.net

Sonoma – Three meetings to choose from: Saturday, June 15,

10:00am, Santa Rosa, Location and Map TBA

10:00am, Sonoma, Sonoma Community Center, 276 East Napa Street, Sonoma, CA

10:00am, Sebastopol, Location and Map TBA

Contact: Phyllis Turrill – rainbow3@comcast.net

Napa – Saturday June 15 Map Link

UC Cooperative Extension Office, 1710 Soscol Avenue, Napa, CA

Contact: Bill Pramuk – info@billpramuk.com

CNPS Contact: Henni and Gerrald Cohen – hennic1044@gmail.com